la pesca con mosca

Two months into our South American travels was the appropriate wait before Patagonia fly fishing crept into my physical existence. Oh, it had been very much on my mind this trip, but the time and conditions had not yet allowed me to give it the attention it deserved. Our extended stay at NOLS gave me the chance to spend some constant time on a river.

20140329-145124.jpg

20140330-135716.jpg

I had heard rumors from George and Mary Jo that a creek nearby was a prime location for fly fishing. I tried to quiz Phil, he runs the NOLS Patagonia equipment room, about what I might expect out of the creek. He just smiled and agreed that it was fishable. Like any fisherman, he wanted me to figure it out for myself. So, off I went with Allie. A quick ten minute jaunt down the road and we found ourselves skirting a small stream. It took another 5 minutes up stream to find a worthy pool for me to fish and a comfortable bank for Allie to sit and read.

20140414-163630.jpg

Two casts was all I needed before I had my first fish in hand. A beautiful little brown trout. Even though he was just a little guy, I was extremely excited. This was the first brown trout I have ever caught.

20140414-164207.jpg

After working this pool and dragging in a handful more fish, I made my way along the stream looking for another location. Allie stayed in her spot, but don’t worry Dave, the water level was very low so no worry of me falling in was present. The next location was loaded with rainbows. How I love this fish!

20140414-164618.jpg

The next day, I brought Allie back to the creek and it was her turn to have some fun. We spent a little time learning how to roll cast, then she was on her own.

20140414-170950.jpg

Look at that concentration!

20140414-171109.jpg

Allie had no trouble figuring out where the fish were and placing her fly in the perfect spot. The bad news is that I suppose I need to buy a new rod for her to use so we can fish at the same time…

20140414-171420.jpg

I know the fish we were pulling in did not compare to the Alaskan size trout you are use to seeing me with, but I can never explain how grateful I was to be on the water again.

Leave a comment